Aeon 3.8 Documentation

Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

Staff can sign researchers in and out of reading rooms conveniently and quickly from both the User Information form and the Request form. Staff can sign researchers out of reading rooms from the User Information and Request forms as well as the Signed In Users group on the Home page. Staff can assign a currently signed-in user to a seating location, if a location has not already been set, without having to first sign the user out and back in. This can be done from the User Information and Request forms as well as the Signed In Users group.

Signing Users In and Out from the User Information Form

On the researcher's User Information form, choose Sign User In or Sign User Out from the Access group of the Home ribbon. If you are signing a user in and you have configured multiple reading rooms and locations, choose the desired reading room and location from the dropdown. If the user has been previously signed into a reading room, the name of that reading room will be visible in the Reading Room field. You cannot change a Reading Room assignment without first signing a user out and back in; once an assignment is made the field becomes inactive. You can assign a seating Location to a user currently signed into a reading room without signing the user out and back in.

Icon

The Sign In and Sign Out buttons are only visible when a user is marked as cleared. The buttons are not on the ribbon if the user is uncleared.

Signing Users In and Out from the Request Form

On any open Request form for the researcher, choose Sign In or Sign Out from the User group of the Home ribbon. If you are signing a user in and have configured multiple reading rooms and locations, choose the desired reading room and location from the dropdown. If the user has been previously signed into a reading room, the name of that reading room will be visible in the Reading Room field. A warning dialog displays when staff attempts to sign in an uncleared user. The dialog asks if you want to continue signing in the user. The default reply is set to No. To sign the user in, click Yes. The warning will display for all uncleared, blocked, disavowed or inactive users. You cannot change a Reading Room assignment without first signing a user out and back in; once an assignment is made the field becomes inactive. You can assign a seating location to a user currently signed into a reading room without signing the user out and back in. You can quickly view the researcher's User Information form, and their uploaded security photo image if available, by clicking on the View icon.

Signing Users Out from the Signed In Users Group

  1. Right click on the user in the Signed In Users Group and select Sign Out User.
  2. The user is instantly signed out from the reading room and removed from the Signed In Users group.

Assigning Seating Locations to Currently Signed In Users

If seating locations exist for your site you can assign a currently signed-in user to a seating location within the assigned Reading Room, if a location has not already been set, without having to first sign the user out and back in. This can be done from the User Information and Request forms as well as the Signed In Users group.

Assigning Seating Locations from the User Information and Request Forms

The Sign In buttons on the User Information and Request forms remain active until a location has been selected. Simply select the seating assignment from the Location field of the Sign In dropdown window and click Sign In. The user is signed into the seating location within the currently assigned Reading Room and the Sign In button becomes inactive. Note that a Location assignment cannot be changed without signing the user out and back in; once an assignment is made the field becomes inactive.

Assigning Seating Locations from the Signed In Users Group

The Sign In option on the Signed In Users group remains active until a Location has been selected. Simply right-click on the Reading Room or Location columns and select the seating assignment from the options available on the submenu of the current Reading Room assignment. The user is signed into the seating location within the currently assigned Reading Room. Note that a Location assignment cannot be changed without signing the user out and back in. The option is no longer present.

Signing Out Users with Items Checked Out

If you attempt to sign a user out of a reading room while items are still checked out, a pop up window displays to alert you and verify that you want to sign the user out. Click the default response, No, to leave the user signed into the reading room until items are returned and checked in. Click Yes if you do want to sign the user out of the reading room with items still checked out. 

To learn how to route an item to a particular status when a user is signed into a reading room, see Automatically Routing Requests with Routing Rules.

Tracking User Sign In and Sign Out Activity

The user's Reading Room History is tracked on the History tab of the User Information Form.


  • No labels