Disavowing Users

Disavowing a user remove the user's access to the ILLiad web interface, automatically cancels all open requests in the user's name, and sends an email to the user stating that they have been disavowed. You would disavow a user that is not allowed to use the ILLiad system, for example, not a registered student or instructor. Clicking the Disavowed icon calls a pop-up box that asks Disavow User? and provided the user information and a field for you to give a Disavow Reason. You can choose to send the user an email and edit the email.

Icon

Both Cleared and Uncleared users can be disavowed. If the user is a Cleared user, change the status to Uncleared in the customer information window, then open the user information window for the user you wish to disavow and follow the steps above.

 

You can reinstate a disavowed user by changing the Cleared Status from within the User Form. Clearing the user will reactive their logon permissions. If the user had open requests before being disavowed, these have been cancelled. The requests can be resubmitted by the user or the status for the requests can be changed from within the client.

If a customer is not affiliated with your institution or has been entered twice, you have the option of disavowing the customer.

  1. Choose the customer you want to disavow, and click the Disavow User button.
  2. A popup window, Disavow User?, opens verifying that you want to disavow the user. Supply a Disavow Reason and select Disavow User.
  3. The customer will immediately be disavowed and disappear from the Users to Clear section.
  4. If the Send-Email button is highlighted, the disavowed customer will receive an automatically-generated email explaining why he/she was denied as an ILLiad user.
  5. If the Edit E-Mail button is highlighted, the system allows you to edit the email before sending.

Reinstating Disavowed Users

You can reinstate a disavowed user from the user form by changing the Cleared Status from within the user form. Clearing the user will reactive their logon permissions. If the user had open requests before being disavowed, these have been cancelled. The requests can be resubmitted by the user or the status for the requests can be changed from within the client.